Trying to get your hands on a Kosher Certificate can be a strenuous process. There is an entire matter of kosher certification requirements in India that are needed to be taken care for first. These requirements form the cornerstone for you to get certified along with starting a food chain that adheres to the Jewish people. Therefore, read through this blog if you want to look a bit deeper into what these requirements are.
The Requirements for Kosher Certification
The Kosher certification in India is a process that can only be done in a fruitful manner if you are adhering to all of the kosher requirements. When it comes to Kosher, there are three food products that are taken into account: Meat, Dairy and Pareve (it is a neutral food group in terms of kosher and entails mostly vegetables). The requirements are as follows:
- Only meats coming from animals with cloven hooves are to be eaten
- The blood has to be properly removed from the animal along with the forbidden fats
- Birds like eagle, owl, swan, pelican, vulture or stork should not be prepared,
- The dairy products should only come from kosher animals.
- Dairy products should not include kosher derivatives
- Milk and meat should not be combined in any form. If you are selling cheeseburger, which is a combination of beef and cheese, then it is not counted as kosher and selling it will deem you uncertifiable.
- Kosher eggs are the ones that do not contain blood
- When it comes to Seafood, fish are allowed, but aquatic animals such as shrimps, crabs, mussels, lobsters are not allowed.
- The entire plant family comes under kosher foods
- If the foods are coming from plants that have been planted in the past three years, then the food is not considered to be kosher.
- When it comes to whine, bull blood, gelatine and casein are not permitted.
These are most of the basic kosher requirements that are needed to be taken into account before Kosher Certification process in India. Make sure that you heed to them and heed to them well.